To Drive the Cold Winter Away

There are weather warnings about today. Alas, there is no snow forecast for my neck of the woods, just high winds and rain. This time last year we had about 10 inches of snow and unusually cold temperatures. I really love snow, probably because the furthest I have to travel in a day is to the school or shops at the bottom of my road. I did that pulling a sledge quite  a lot last year. Thinking back, I must have looked quite a sight since I was over 34 weeks pregnant.

My Dad was a real lover of extreme weather and he has passed his sense of excitement about it on to me. It seems a bit sad that the two most severe winters we’ve had have been since he died.

January 2010

Despite the lack of snow, it’s been a festive day here today. I attended my second nativity show at my children’s school. Son number one had a starring role as lead shepherd. Unfortunately he looked really tired, every time I turned the video camera onto him there seemed to be a yawn escaping. He’s had a lot of trouble getting to sleep the last few nights. I put it down to general excitement and a developing cough.

After the school performance, I came home to a nice tidy house, thanks to my Mum who had been keeping an eye on babykins. I soon had a peaceful, tidy house as babykins had a lovely long nap. I climbed up to my CD collection which is now on a high shelf through lack of use and retrieved my ‘winter’ CD. This was given to me by my Aunt a few years ago and though I love it, I’ve probably listened to it less than ten times. It’s a very atmospheric recording, mainly of old sounding folk songs. The voice of the singer is beautifully pure and is accompanied by just a harp, accordion or whistle. On days when it’s wild outside, it really does ‘Drive The Cold Winter Away’.

I lit my vanilla candles, made cup of tea and got busy with the crochet hook. Actually, I started off by darning in the ends on all the stars I’d whipped up the other night.

I’ve been enjoying crocheting stars and snowflakes. I think I may have to keep doing them into the New Year so that I have enough to create something with next Christmas. The stars came from an Australian blog called The Royal Sisters. The pattern, called ‘The Grandma Twinkle’ is here. They are really easy, though I find that I need to use the edited final round in order to make them sit flatter. So far I’ve only made two snowflakes. One was my own design that I just made up as I went along

My own design

The next one was from the crochet snowflake tutorial at Attic 24 (thank you Lucy). Following Lucy’s pattern was much easier than making my own up.

Attic 24’s Snowflake

I also blocked out all my stars and snowflakes so that they will be much more pointy. I’ve used a couple of my foam yoga blocks, covered in a layer of muslin. They are ideal for pinning out these little beauties. I spray them with cheap laundry starch, available from Boyes store (source of all crafting materials in my town).

I’m hoping that I will be able to create a few more individual snowflakes, after all, ‘in the wild’ no two are really alike.

It’s still blowing a gale outside tonight. Time to go to bed and dream about snow. As I’ve been organised and bought a super new sledge and snow boots for the children It’s probably the nearest I’ll get this year. Mother Nature always has the last laugh.

2 thoughts on “To Drive the Cold Winter Away

  1. Hi, I popped over from attic 24 after finding your comment on Lucy’s blog.

    Love your content, enjoying your writing style, and REALLY loved your diversion off with you camera’s macro facility while doing your pickling! Your photo’s really cheer up the awful dreary wintry days. Though I have to say we are having it sunny, if bitterly cold down here in Norfolk.

    Good luck with your blog!

    • Hi Lynne, Thank you so much for visiting and leaving such a lovely comment. Of course I aspire to have a blog as lovely as Lucy’s one day but I don’t think I’ll ever have her creativity. Pop back and visit again soon.
      Rachael

Leave a Reply

