Marmalade: Ta-Dah….

Being newish in Blogland, I’m not sure if the ‘Ta-Dah’ post is a general thing or just something to be found at Attic 24. Anyway, today is the ‘Ta-Dah’ for my marmalade. Wanna see it?

I’m glad I took the picture when I did, because it is grey and damp today. Yesterday it looked so beautiful with the sun shining through it. I couldn’t see the little light rays except through the camera lens. I don’t know why that is.

I could have spent A-G-E-S taking pictures of my marmalade (how sad am I?). Since I only had my phone camera, there wasn’t much point. I don’t think Babykins would have been too impressed either.

Now, if I could only get to grips with ‘Word’ I could print out some fancy labels for it. I have grand ideas about each label being covered in pictures of oranges, like the lids, with the text over the top. If anyone can tell me how to do this, I’d be extremely grateful. In the meantime, I think I’d better just go and get on with the old technology of writing out a label.

So, before I go, here are the facts and figures about my marmalade:

Amount of Oranges: 2kg, cost £3.52

Amount of Sugar: 4kg, cost £3.96

Number of lemons: 5, cost approximately £1.25

Number of jars made: 15

Cost per jar (not including gas): 58p

Time taken: Approximately six hours, so almost 25 minutes per jar!!!!!

Cost in Supermarket: Between 55p and £1.99 per jar.

Was it worth it? Yeahhhh, of course it was, but next time I think I’m going to experiment with the flavour more. See you next January for that.

Leave a Reply

