Hook ’em in

Last Friday I was lucky enough to spend a few hours with two of my oldest and dearest friends. We don’t get that opportunity very often because one of us lives a good two hour journey away. We had decided to have a bit of a ‘crafternoon’, indulging ourselves in a bit of ‘hooking’. Now, that was all very well for me and the Out-of-Town friend, because we already knew how. The challenge was to teach our other pal.

Luckily for us, she’s very clever (got a PhD, you know) and picked it up quickly. After just an hour or so she was merrily making trebles in the round. The fact that her very first round bit of crochet was a bit wobbly was entirely my fault for getting her to make the wrong number of stiches. Ooops.

I was getting to grips with making teeny-tiny hearts. The pattern is by Lucy at Attic 24 and comes with the usual, beautifully photographed tutorial if you want to have a go yourself.

As you may be able to see from the photo, I kept on making them while I took Son Number One to his swimming lesson. I suspect the other mums think I’m slightly mad sitting there crocheting away. I usually get a visit from one of their little girls who wants to know what I’m up to. Maybe one day she’ll want to have a go?

On Saturday afternoon, as the snow began to fall, my clever friend and I took out our hooks again. In between supervising our children we managed to make a bit more progress. She was really getting the hang of it. So much so, that on Sunday evening I got a text photo of a completed crochet flower.

I couldn’t resist popping round on Monday night to see her first completed project in the flesh and to inspect the yarn she’d bought that day. Soon we were working on a mini project together; a set of four teeny tiny hearts. By the end of the evening, they had been made, embellished with buttons and added to an engagement card for my friend’s colleague.

Starting the first round…

A lovely stash of buttons from ‘Kitties Closet’

A useful set of stamps from Stampin’ Up

Adding colour to the stamp

The finished article

I’m pleased to say, I seem to have a new convert to crochet. Always a joy to recruit another happy hooker!

Leave a Reply

