More Sunny Days

So February is gone and March has already brought us some glorious sunny days; thank goodness for that. I was recently reminded of a little piece of writing about February from Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s River Cottage Year Book.

“I hate February. Basically, it’s a month longer than I’m prepared to tolerate of bone-chilling, icy winds and strength-sapping seasonal motionlessness.

So if anyone would like to offer me a couple of weeks’ fishing and diving in tropical seas for the last two weeks of February every year for the rest of my life, they could certainly have a small piece of my soul – ideally the piece February has spent 28 days of every year for the last 38 years trying to destroy.”

I’m not sure that I feel like that about February. By then, the snowdrops are starting to bloom and there is some spring promise around.

No, I think November is my worst month.

Anyway, the title of this post was not about dull February, but sunny March, so here are a few cheery March pictures, full of sunshine and brightness.

Swirly lines of crocus appear all over the area around about now.

The sun is still low enough, just after nine o’clock to make some great shadows. This is me taking Babykins to his first visit to Tumble Tots, which was very successful.

That low, bright sun made the yellow lichen on this bark look so bright against the green ivy and blue sky I stopped to take a picture. I suspect passing motorists must have wondered what on earth I was up to. As I moved on and looked back at the spot where I had stopped, I was struck by how the colours were nothing special from the other direction. I actually felt quite lucky to have been walking in that particular direction at that particular time. Having a small child may bring frustrations on a daily basis but it does have it’s benefits. I am able to go out for a walk on a bright sunny day and not be stuck in an office. I have that little bit of time to stop and ‘smell the roses’ (or view the lichen in this case).

On my way home I passed a whole flower bed of these bellis daisys. They are so cute.

More blue skies, I just can’t resist them…..

and this week’s crochet project. Can you tell what it is yet (puts on a Rolf Harris voice)?


Truthfully, I’m not sure myself yet but I enjoyed playing about with the different stitches, increasing and decreasing to make this shape. It may be a decorated egg to hang on our Easter display or it may metamorphosis into a fat chicken.  Perhaps I should write the pattern up when I’ve decided exactly what it’s going to be.

I’d better save that for later because I am due at my daughter’s class in half and hour to help with some face painting. Before then I need to eat lunch and try to do some useful domestic jobs. I’ll be ashamed if the family come home tonight and I haven’t even emptied the dishwasher.

Leave a Reply

