A White Ta-da

Well, I’ve finally finished the baby jacket I (re)started back in December. I shared some pictures of it here. If you’ve read that post you will know that I originally started this project in 2005 and the baby it was intended for is now six!

I think I have got a lot to learn about making garments (making them faster would be a good start). There are skills that really need to revisited on a regular basis. I don’t think I have a particular problem with reading patterns but I always have to frog bits here are there before I am convinced I’ve got it right. I’m still not completely sure about the neckline on this one but I didn’t have time on my side by the time I got to that bit.

Clothes for tiny babies are so cute, don’t you think? The baby this is going to arrived just over a month ago but was approximately seven weeks early. I’m glad to say that both baby and mother are doing really well. From a completely selfish point of view, it really helped me. Knowing that he (as it turns out) had arrived finally spurred me into action to get this finished. I made a point of crocheting the second size as I had a feeling I would let it languish until the last minute. At least it IS finished and I don’t need to wait another few years for another baby to come along.

Here are some of the technical details:

Pattern from ‘Crochet for Babies and Toddlers’ by Betty Barnden. The stitch consists of two double crochet stitches worked into a chain space in the previous row, followed by a chain space. The borders and cuffs are single crochet.

Yarn: Sirdar Snuggly 4 ply, a nylon acrylic mix. Actually, it wasn’t the nicest yarn to work with but it was what the pattern specified and someone had given me two 50g balls. I had 11g left over, which I estimate works out at 406m of yarn used. That seems like an awful lot though. Maybe I don’t know how to read a yarn label.

I’m looking forward to finding another good crochet pattern so I can make something for Babykins. If you’ve got any suggestions, feel free to let me know. I fancy something in red, white and blue to celebrate the Jubilee and the Olympics. I’ve already got some nice new cotton yarn on standby so watch this space, though it could be six years before you see progress…..

2 thoughts on “A White Ta-da

Leave a Reply

