Celebration Clothing Inspiration

I mentioned a couple of posts back that I wanted to create a red, white and blue crocheted number for babykins. Last week I made a test square of single crochet in my new Patons dk cotton yarn. I was thinking that when I had done that I could work out the gauge and perhaps make a chart so that I could create a Union Jack pattern. It would be quite an ambitious project, I’ve never tried to do anything like that before. I still fancy giving it a go but I’m worried that it could be 3012 by the time I get it done.

So my plans have changed slightly. I still want to mark 2012 by dressing up my children in a patriotic fashion but I think I am going to make something for the Middle Miss. I thought I could go for simplicity. I was visiting a lovely LYS (local yarn shop) on Tuesday when I suddenly realised I could create a cute cardigan from granny squares. Sure enough, when I looked around on Ravelry there was plenty of inspiration:

Of course, while I was visiting said LYS I couldn’t leave without a purchase. A bit indulgent really as I already mentioned, I have recently acquired a small stash of Patons 100% cotton DK yarn. However, I bought that with decorative projects in mind, rather than garments. The Patons yarn is lovely, smooth and slightly shiny but it is not particularly ‘drapey’. I ummed and ahhed a bit over my choice of new yarn but ultimately it was the colours available that made the choice for me. I nearly bought some Sirdar Snuggly Baby Bamboo DK. It was beautifully soft and had a very vibrant red colour. I finally plumped for some Sublime Egyptian Cotton that came in slightly more subtle shades.

So here is my first little test square.

A combination of bobble stitch (which gives the dense centre), trebles and half trebles. Designing something new gets my head buzzing. There are so many possible combinations. I definitely haven’t got the kind of brain that can ‘see’ exactly what I want my finished article to look like. Cross your fingers that this turns out ok and is finished before the first weekend in June!

Leave a Reply

