Mistake Marinated Chicken

As per usual when it comes to my food writing (get me – “food writing”), this post was inspired by some bargains. I picked up 12 chicken drumsticks/thighs for £2.68, reduced from £4. I wanted to bake them so that they would be coated in a nice, sticky, sweetish sauce so I looked online for a recipe. The one I liked the look of contained honey and soy can be found here. However, I became a little absent minded while I was making up the marinade. Instead of using honey, I discovered I had used golden syrup.

After that, the recipe became my own little bit of store cupboard, free-form cookery. I scribbled down what I was doing in case it turned out ok. It did, so here it is, in case you want something quick, easy (look below, you don’t even have to chop garlic), tasty and relatively cheap. No one ever said it was healthy though, especially when you serve it with chips like I did. In my defence, they were oven chips.

Ingredients

50ml soy sauce

30ml golden syrup

2tbs lemon juice (mine came out of a bottle)

3tbs tomato ketchup

a few grinds of pepper

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp pureed garlic

12 x chicken thighs or drumsticks (you could probably add more if your dish was big enough)

Method

Preheat the oven to 180C or get your barbecue ready.

Lay the chicken pieces in an oven proof dish/roasting tray. If you are feeling lazy, line it with foil to save washing up.

Mix up all the other ingredients in a suitable bowl or measuring jug.

Pour the well mixed marinade over the chicken and turn the pieces to coat them. If you were super organised you could chill everything at this point (or see my other top tip, below). I was in need of dinner relatively quickly so I went straight to the cooking stage…..

Cover the dish with a lid or foil and bake for 45 minutes, turning the chicken every 15 minutes to get an more even coating. Check that the juices from the chicken run clear at the end of baking. If not, give them longer. I think I took the lid off mine for the last 15 minutes to crisp things up a bit.

If you are planning to serve them to children, it helps to wrap the bony end of the drumsticks in a piece of foil or kitchen roll. Oh, and have plenty of flannels on hand too….

According to the recipe I started off using you can keep these in the fridge for a couple of days. Reheating them should take about 10 minutes at 140C (or a quick blast in the microwave – remember to cover them, they will spit). They are also good eaten cold in a packed lunch, although, apparently the Middle Miss’s school friends thought they looked horrible, and to be truthful, she preferred them warm. Pah, four year old food Philistines, what do they know.

Prepare ahead Top Tip….

I seem to remember watching Nigella Lawson do this so all credit to her…

Freeze your chicken pieces in the marinade and then they will get coated/infuse with flavour in the freezing/defrosting process. Haven’t tried it so don’t know if it works. Maybe someone can let me know. Do remember to check the chicken is fully defrosted before cooking. Overnight in the fridge should probably do it.

Leave a Reply

