Capturing Childhood

Because blogging is so instant, it is easy to record little snippets of family life that you might otherwise forget. That is one of the reasons I am still hooked on doing it. I already enjoy looking back in my archives, as if they were a family photo album.

Being “born in the age of technology” (as my Grandfather used to lament that he wasn’t) has allowed us a wonderful freedom to snap photos in an almost unlimited fashion. Many of us now have a camera with us all the time, packaged away within our smart phones. There’s no risk in taking more candid, unposed shots in a way that I would never have contemplated in the old days of film

But are our photos any good?
When the writer of one of my favourite blogs, Kat at Housewife Confidential, announced that she was launching a new venture (with her friend, another Kat, from ‘Slugs on the Refrigerator‘) called  ‘Capturing Childhood‘ I was keen to find out more. Capturing Childhood is a website where you can find and book an e-course in photography. Their first course is called ‘Collect the Moments‘, something I think have already been trying to do.
I was rather pleased to find out that they are having a scholarship competition, based around using the instagram app. So the last few days have seen me tapping away at my iphone, getting to grips with editing, adding tags to photos and uploading them. Here is the selection that I’ve entered so far… I think know there will be more. It’s addictive.

If you want to know more about the courses I’ve mentioned, follow the links above. If you want to see all the other entrants, visit instagram via your smartphone and search for the #capturingchildhood tag.

2 thoughts on “Capturing Childhood

  1. It’s funny but it only struck me afterwards how poignant it was that they were his big brothers first shoes. Especially considering all that his big brother has been through. I started to wonder how I would have felt if we had lost Son Number One to leukaemia and then Babykins had been growing into all his clothes. That would have been very strange. I wonder if I would have let him wear them or if it would have been too upsetting? Sorry, quite a maudlin thought I suppose but that’s what images do I suppose, set you thinking.

Leave a Reply

