The flowers in my garden

On Sunday night I went out in to the garden to take a picture for a post I am working on. I hadn’t intended to go around taking pictures of the flowers in my garden but that’s what I did. Since the rain has returned and the garden now looks like this…

I thought it would be nice to be cheered up by some bright blooms. Here they are…

Turning left out of the back door The Husband has his collection of new lavender and peiris plants.

Moving along the patio to the left you reach our climbing frame (you can see it in my second picture). We purchased this from Activity Toys a local company based on a diversified farm. It’s a great place to visit if you want outdoor toys because they have a field with lots of different play frames set up. This was essential to us as we had a really awkward space to fill and we needed to get the tape measure out. They also sell ‘seconds’ usually with a hefty discount. Our frame was £100 less than the normal retail price.

I think we bought the climbers and clematis in the autumn of 2009, not long after we purchased the frame. They were all quite small and were on offer in Aldi. I have no idea what varieties they are. As this is a small, family garden we have gone for climbers more than anything else. I dont think herbaceous perennials would stand much chance.

This mauve clematis is one of three we have growing up our climbing frame. It’s done quite well this year, reaching right up to the crossbar where the swing is suspended.

I think this is some sort of Jasmine that is also growing up the climbing frame. It’s doing a good job of covering up the bare wooden poles. Unlike the purple clematis below.

This bright pink clematis is growing around our garden seat (see second picture). It has only produced one bloom and sadly, it can’t be seen from the house.

The same flower but close up.

At the right hand side of our garden we have quite a lot of climbing, rambling plants that were there when we moved in. They are not very dramatic but I like the green-ness of them compared to the relatively bare fence on the left. They contain a few things that encourage wildlife into the garden. For example there is a flowering cherry that looks lovely when it blooms earlier in the spring. It is now providing food for all the starlings that are about. Lower down we have cotoneaster and honeysuckle growing together.

Bees love them both.

My final picture is a sneak peak at what I went outside to photograph in the first place. Can you work out what it is?

5 thoughts on “The flowers in my garden

  1. Ooo its elderflower….ive just madey second bath of cordial its so lovely !!! And definately better than the bought stuff …lovely pics xxx

    • Yes, you are right. Isn’t elderflower lovely? I’m glad you hear your cordial turned out well – you may need to give me some tips. By the way, I’m guessing you meant to type a ‘batch’ of cordial but a bath of it would be rather nice too. Can you imagine how good it would smell?

Leave a Reply

