Christmas Preparations: The Home Made Gift Challenge

homemadegiftchallenge1Yes, you read it right: Christmas Preparations.

I don’t really do New Years Resolutions. I know that my capacity for sticking with anything is minimal and actually, I’m pretty contented; there’s not much I want to change. This year though, I am making a plan. I want my Christmas gifts to be homemade in 2013. My New Years Resolution is to work on my preparations, creating at least one gift per month. With this in mind, I’ve been thinking about what I can make. My list so far includes:

1. Christmas Cakes or puddings.

2. Food or preserves hampers

3. Crochet items – scarves, handwarmers, shawls, bags, brooches, Christmas decorations

4. Flavoured liquers – I already have quite a bit of apple and bramble gin steeping. It should be delicious by next Christmas!

I can assure you, in the words of Jessie J that “It’s not about the money, money, money”. I think that in terms of the cost of the supplies required to make the gifts and the time, I probably won’t be much better off. It’s about the pleasure of giving. Each year I hate the stress of buying gifts. I’m hoping that creating them makes Christmas more enjoyable.

If you have any good ideas for home made gifts that can be made well in advance I’d love to hear them. Likewise if you’d like to join in my home made gift challenge and create something once a month, let me know.

4 thoughts on “Christmas Preparations: The Home Made Gift Challenge

  1. I like your home made gifts.
    What about some pretty note cards/birthday cards as it is a useful gift, make them for friends with children, one less stress when there is a last minute party invite?
    I made kilner jars with cookie mix (can share recipe – £1 for 500g jar) they were really easy & you could decorate the jar with a crochet snowflake that could be hung on the tree?
    Have you been on Pinterest, loads of great ideas on there, but addictive on time!!!!!!

    Angela x

    • Hello Angela, funny, I was thinking of having some notecards printed with some of my best images. Your cards are lovely and the colours always look so good. I do like pinterest. No doubt I will find some nice things there.

Leave a Reply

