Meet Miss Mittens

IMG_6579The Middle Miss was invited to a birthday party at the weekend so she needed to take a gift. I thought this little purse would be suitable for six year old girl. I hope she liked it because actually, the girl in question is quite keen on pirates. Never mind, I have also seen her dressed virtually head to toe in ‘Hello Kitty’ branded clothing.

Miss Mittens is a pattern from Nicki Trench’s ‘Cute and Easy Crochet’, which was one of my Christmas presents. The crochet part was easy – two circles, one of which had a slight ‘bump’ in it to make the muzzle and two squares folded in half to make the ears. The tricky part was working out how to stitch the zip and the lining together. That part even confused my Mum a little bit. It’s the whole inside/outside thing with stitching, especially when the right side of the lining faces the inside of the bag.

IMG_6588 The finished item looked rather cute, even if I do say so myself. Anyway, I can’t take the credit, that belongs to Nicki Trench!

IMG_6584Finishing this project got me thinking about how I could modify the design.

IMG_1923So, (Rolf Harris Voice) “Can you tell what it is yet?”

IMG_1925

Say hello to Percy Pig. He’s a work in progress at the moment, as you can see. I think his nose needs some modification and I think a mouth and some tufts of hair (like this) are in order. I’m quite pleased with him but I think perhaps a change of yarn might work well next time. As much as I like cotton yarn, which is what I made this out of, I think something a bit more soft and fluffy might be better. So, that’s it for now. Maybe more yarn talk next time.

Leave a Reply

