52 weeks of happy 20/52

IMG_7130I went back to work this week after a break of almost two and a half years. I am only teaching one yoga for birth class a week so it’s not a big deal. However, it’s great to be back in business again and I’m looking forward to welcoming lots of lovely Mums-to-be.

IMG_7148Babykins and I met up with some friends at a ‘sling meet’ last Thursday. There was no chance of getting my little big boy into any kind of carrier so we played in the park with one of the other pre-schoolers while her Mum went off to lead the babywearing crew on their walk. We were blessed with beautiful sunshine in Teesside that day so there were lots of parents (27 I think) enjoying carrying their babies in slings, wraps and backpacks. After the babies came back to the play area, Babykins and I wandered down to the river to visit the ducks. It was peaceful with only the occasional dog walker passing by. Babykins was great company so we happily sat in the sun enjoying our snacks and wondering if ducks like banana. We’re still not sure but I think it’s fair to say they prefer bread.

IMG_7171On Saturday we had a long awaited trip to the theatre to see ‘Horrible Histories – Terrible Tudors‘. The Middle Miss had been a bit reluctant to attend. I think she was concerned that she would have to witness a few beheadings. The second half had scenery that produced 3-D effects. So, although the beheading of Mary Queen of Scots was done in the form of shadow puppetry, her blood appeared to fly at us from the stage. Thankfully The Middle Miss coped with it all.

IMG_7174Finally, after the downpours of Saturday, Sunday afternoon was spent in the allotment. After much nagging from my Mum, I planted out some of the runner beans (there are more waiting). After last year’s epic fail, when we harvested not one bean, we are hoping for better things in 2013. Some of these beans were planted direct into the soil and protected by fleece. The larger ones have been growing in the greenhouse. This means we have plants at a range of stages and hopefully that will mean a longer, more spread out picking season. Bring on the pickled beans.

2 thoughts on “52 weeks of happy 20/52

  1. Getting back to work – great! although we all know the work that goes on at home lol. Wondered if you’re part of the Inspire network? find on facebook, just joined in myself 😀 And bought my bedding plants at the weekend but yes, after last year I think it was putting optimism over experience! and now we have hail and thunder – horrible indeed!
    pamela x

    • Hi Pamela, I know about the network as I have a few friends who are members. I should join and get along to one of their events. Fingers crossed for a good bank holiday….thanks for popping in.

Leave a Reply

