An evening at the beach

WARNING – This post is overloaded with photos!

Remember summer? You know, that bit of nice weather we had a week or two ago? I managed to take advantage of it by going to the beach one night after school. I really, really, really wanted to go and visit the great new Yarnbombing at Saltburn. I have posted about the Saltburn Yarnbombings before (you can find the posts here and here) so I felt the need to catch up on the wooly happenings down the coast. This time I managed to drag The Husband along too, thanks to the privilege of working flexi-time.

IMG_7312

First we set ourselves up on the sand with our blanket and picnic and indulged in the usual seaside pursuits of digging, burying and  ‘foraging’. Babykins was completely tickled with the experience of having his feet buried in the sand.

IMG_7315

IMG_7310

IMG_2465

IMG_2470

The foraging in the pools underneath the pier was fruitful. We caught a few tiny flat fish and shrimp, though I only got a picture of the flat fish. I have never caught anything like it before. It was perfectly camouflaged – almost transparent with tiny brown dots all over it.

IMG_7326

We ate fish and chips and ice cream and eventually decided to head for the top of the pier, where the yarnbombing was located. By this time it was getting quite late and we were running out of dry clothes for Babykins. I think we were the last family with young children off the beach (tut, tut).

IMG_2519

The Yarnbombing was fabulous. Bigger than the last two I’ve seen here and so much fun. I photographed it all and I have been hard pushed to take out many of the images, I love them all. So, here goes photo overload. If you haven’t been to see it or if you are far away, I hope you enjoy it

IMG_2475

IMG_2529

IMG_2510

IMG_2490

 

IMG_2477

IMG_2478

IMG_2479

IMG_2481

IMG_2482

IMG_2483

IMG_2485

IMG_2491

IMG_2490

IMG_2487

IMG_2486

IMG_2494

IMG_2495

IMG_2496

IMG_2499

IMG_2501

IMG_2502

IMG_2503

IMG_2505

IMG_2504

IMG_2507

IMG_2509

IMG_2517

IMG_2516

IMG_2515

IMG_2513

IMG_2518

 

IMG_2520

IMG_2521

IMG_2527

IMG_2526

So, there you have it. Somebody worked long and hard on that lot! What was your favourite. I think mine is the fish and chips, though the donkeys ‘Knit and Purl’ are very cute too. Did you notice the crochet? I was very pleased to see some of that. What a lot of inspiration….

4 thoughts on “An evening at the beach

  1. It’s amazing that people have spent the time to decorate a public place in such a way. It would be great for them to be acknowledged as I’m sure it helps bring visitors to the area.

    • It certainly brings visitors in. It’s one if the nicest local beaches anyway but the yarn bombing helps. I bet it’s not harming business in the local yarn shop either! Do you think they might know something about it?

      • They probably do have an idea. It’s good fun, I’d love to do something like that.

Leave a Reply

