Make do and mend…

You might not think it, but I am trying to count the pennies at the moment. I’m not very good at it but I am trying. Today I decided to jazz up my jeans with a packet of Dylon machine dye in order to avoid buying a new pair.

IMG_2554

I like my jeans to be a good, solid dark colour, without worn patches. However, life with small children means that I am frequently kneeling down to talk to them, do up shoes and dry tears. My comfy jeans were no longer looking as new and fresh as I would like.

IMG_2558

Using a machine dye is very clean, easy and I’ve never had a problem with the colour staying in the machine. The only down side is that you need to run the machine through at least 2 cycles, three if the garment you are dying can’t be washed at 90 degrees Celsius.

IMG_7498 Ok, so the knee on the right is still a bit faded, but they look a lot better than they did. I should have taken a ‘before’ picture as well as an ‘after’. The salt cost less than 30p and the dye, as you can see in the first photo was £3.99. I don’t know how much two 60 degree and one 90 degree washes cost, but I think it’s probably less than a new pair of Marks and Spencer jeans…

 

Leave a Reply

