Elderflower time again

IMG_7390You know it’s June when the elderflowers bloom!

I love making elderflower cordial. It’s a little bit of summer in a bottle. It’s also well worth it because the store bought version is relatively expensive.

I love picking it too: no thorns or stings and the smell is divine. We are lucky to have an elderflower tree growing over the corner of our allotment, behind the greenhouse. I harvest both the flowers and the berries each year but only from the lower branches. There is always plenty of fruit for the birds in the autumn.

IMG_7512I have been thinking all week about when I could do some foraging and preserving and today was the day. While Babykins raked and watered I snipped away at the big, creamy, flat flower heads, dusting the yellow pollen all around me as I went. Babykins and I also harvested the first courgette of the season.

IMG_7518Which, as you can see in the photo above didn’t last long.

Tonight I have started the process of making cordial. The flowers are steeping in a bath of sugar syrup and lemon slices. After my experiments last year, I have decided I prefer the sharper version of elderflower cordial (a bit like this). It’s a miracle that there’s any sharpness left in it at all when you realise just how much sugar goes into cordial.

IMG_2563Each pint of water requires 750g of sugar. I thought I would measure this by volume too. 750g of sugar is almost equivalent to a PINT and A HALF!!!!!!! No wonder it tastes good!

IMG_2559 For previous elderflower posts, click here

2 thoughts on “Elderflower time again

  1. Oh I love making Elderflower cordial too! The amount of sugar is quite frightening really. First time I ever made it I only used 75g of sugar per pint as I was convinced the recipe was wrong. As you can imagine our first batch wasn’t great 😉 Waiting for a dry day now so I can go foraging for those lovely fluffy flower heads too.
    Your allotment is looking very lush and productive 🙂 xx

    • That is so funny, made me giggle. Yes, the amount of sugar is truly frightening. It didn’t stop me drinking a good slosh of it last night though! I’m still drinking up last year’s batch.

Leave a Reply

