52 weeks of happy: 37 and 38/52

Arachnophobes beware, there is a picture of a spider at the end (but it is small and pretty).

IMG_8269Babykins can peel a carrot! We cook together almost every day and he’s watched me do it lots of times so I’m very pleased to know, that at the age of two years and nine months, he can do it himself.

IMG_8279Dropped scones. We’ve had them twice recently. They are so quick, easy and comforting. Cooking and eating them makes me feel good and for some reason I associate them with autumn. They have also saved my bacon when the children have been squabbling – make up a quick batch of these, sit them at the table and hey presto – 10 minutes peace and quiet.

IMG_8287Crochet: I have been trying really hard to make lots of my hanging decorations. I am going to take the plunge and sell some at a small, local craft fair. I love the colours in these. This is an ‘in progress’ photo. Now they are all stitched together with a few beads between each heart and look even prettier. I wonder what colour choices other people would like.
IMG_8261Sunlight coming through the ruby red of my steeping damson gin. It should probably be in a dark place but where’s the joy in that? I just love looking at it as the colour seeps out, bit by bit each day.

IMG_3548We went on a family bike ride on Saturday with Son Number One’s scout group. Son Number One was off like a shot with his friends, but The Middle Miss found it a lot harder. I was amazed at how hard she worked to complete all 17 miles. It was a very proud moment when she crossed the finish line.

IMG_3595These pretty little stripy spiders define the season – late summer, early autumn. There are so many of them about at the moment and when the sun shines low through their delicate but superbly strong silk is a thing of beauty.

2 thoughts on “52 weeks of happy: 37 and 38/52

Leave a Reply

