School of Thrift

Blogging is a great way to be more mindful. In the same way that writing a diary makes you reflect on your life, writing a blog gives you a nudge to think just that little bit more about what is important to you and recently, I have been nudged into thinking about the word thrift.

This all started when I noticed that the organisers of the Festival of Thrift in Darlington were looking for bloggers to join their ‘School of Thrift’. I had heard from a friend (thank you Susie Cottonsocks) that last year’s inaugural festival was a fabulous event so I was keen to get involved. But then I wondered about my lifestyle. Could I call myself thrifty? I had to look up a definition of the word to check. This is what my computer’s dictionary had to say on the matter.

Thrift: the quality of using money and other resources carefully and not wastefully.

That seemed reasonable to me. As a family we do try not to waste things. I still wondered if I could qualify as thrifty while owning a new iPhone and a car that is less than two years old. Perhaps it’s because I associate thrift with my Grandparents era of rationing and post-war austerity that I’m finding it hard to unpick exactly what thrift means to me. These days, when we choose to be thrifty, we are perhaps thinking more about separating ourselves from mass-production and our throw-away, disposable culture than our Grandparents, whose thriftiness was an essential skill rather than a lifestyle choice.

My computer also tells me that the opposite of thrift is extravagance and I don’t think that is a word that could be used in connection with my family.  After all, the sofa I am sitting on is over 20 years old and next to it are two chairs that belonged to our grandparents. I have no desire to replace any of them yet because they are good quality and comfortable.  So I think thrift is fairly integral to the way I make my purchases and live my life. Maybe it’s just that thrift is such an everyday occurrence in my household that it doesn’t feel like anything special.

So, this year, I will be contributing to the School of Thrift by adding as many thrifty posts as I can and I will be looking back over my previous posts to flag up any that I think qualify with a ‘thrift’ tag. Look out for recipes, gardening and crafty ideas. There will be lots of other thrifty goings on at the main School of Thrift pages over at Google+ (which is a whole new world for me) so head over there if you want to find out more.

Happy Thrifting!

Leave a Reply

